Skip to Content
Your browser is out of date. To use this website, please update your browser or use a different device.
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Contact research

Contact information for VA Houston Research Service Line.

VA Houston Research Service Line Mailing Address


Research Service Line
Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center
Mail Code 151
2002 Holcombe Boulevard
Houston, TX 77030
Fax: 713-794-7240
Email: VHAHOUMEDVAMCResearch@va.gov

Research Service Line Directory

Laura Petersen, MD, MPH
Associate Chief of Staff for Research (ACOS/R)
Emaillaura.petersen@va.gov
Phone: 713-794-8623
Nabisco building, Suite 01Y

Rolando Rumbaut, MD, PhD
Deputy ACOS/R, Research Service Line (RSL)
Emailrolando.rumbaut@va.gov
Phone713-794-8096
Building 109, Room 228

Drew Helmer, MD, MS
Deputy Director, Center for Innovations in Quality, Effectiveness, and Safety (IQuESt)
Emaildrew.helmer@va.gov
Phone: 713-440-4452
Nabisco building, Suite 01Y

Paula Kinsel, MHA, MBA, MT, FACHE
Director of Research Operations
Email: paula.kinsel@va.gov
Phone: 713-794-7939
Building  110, Room 219

Shannon Kenyon, MBA
Administrative Officer, IQuESt
Email: shannon.kenyon@bcm.edu
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 10293
Nabisco building, Suite 01Y

Diana Nieto
Financial Officer, RSL
Email: nieto.diana@va.gov
Phone: 713-794-7920
Building 110, Room 207

Duy Bui, MHA
Financial Analyst, RSL
Email: duy.bui@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 24011
Building  110, Room 201

Leah Esparza, MBA
Program Specialist, RSL
Email: leah.esparza@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 24018
Building  110, Room 201

Rachel Prieto
Health Science Specialist, RSL
Email: rachel.prieto@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 26656
Building 110, Room 201

Uyen Capistran
Program Specialist, RSL
Email: uyen.capistran@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414
Building 110, Room 201

IQuESt Finance

Supicha Sookanan, MS, MPH
Post-Award Administrator, IQuESt
Email: supicha.sookanan@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 10323
Nabisco building, Suite 01Y

Rafael Garcia, MBA
Human Resources Manager, RSL
Email: rafael.garcia2@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 27565
Building 110, Room 202-A

Rebecca Durbin
WOC Coordinator
Email: rebecca.durbin@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 21433
Building 110, Room 205

Tiffany Hurt
Training, Travel, and Timekeeper Coordinator, RSL
Email: tiffany.hurt1@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 22784
Building 110, Room 205

IQuESt Human Resources

Ed Pomer
Human Resources, IQuESt
Email: ed.pomer@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 10347
Nabisco building, Suite 01Y

Tynisha Rivers
Travel Coordinator, IQuESt
Email: tynisha.rivers@va.gov
Phone: 713-440-4683
Nabisco building, Suite 01Y

Rebecca Rocha
R&D Committee Coordinator
Email: rebecca.rocha@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 27567
Building 110, Room 217

Dana Boykins, MBA
Pre-Award Grants Administrator, RSL
Email: dana.boykins@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 26714
Building 110, Room 202

Katherine Bay, MPH
Pre-Award Grants Administrator, IQuESt
Email: katherine.garrett@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 10323
Nabisco building, Suite 01Y

Christine Eriks, MHA, MBA
CTRID Administrator
Email: christine.eriks@bcm.edu
Phone: 713-794-8096 713-794-8096
Building 109, Room 226

Dorellyn Lee, MPA
Manager, Laboratory Safety Operations, RSL
Email: dorellyn.lee@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 27949
Building 109, Room 127

Pat Cloud, Manager, Research Commons
Email: patricia.cloud@va.gov
Phone: 713-794-7001
Main hospital, building 100, 5D Research Commons

Sarah Perusich
Associate Director of Operations (ADO) for NODES
Email: sarah.perusich@va.gov
Phone: 713-794-7294
Main hospital, building 100, 5D Research Commons

Biju Johnson, R.Ph.
Manager, Research Pharmacy
Email: biju.johnson@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 28850
Main hospital, building 100, Room 4A-360

Anjali Raval
Research Safety and Subcommittee for Research Safety (SRS) Coordinator
Email: anjali.raval@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 21890
Building 109, Room 114

Dionne Nichols,
Research Safety Assistant
Email: dionne.nichols@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 25822
Building 109, Room 128

Denise Naylor, PhD,
Director of Quality Assurance and Regulatory Affairs
Email: denise.naylor@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 27564
Main hospital, building 110, Room 140

Jeffrey Young, MBA, Facility Research Compliance Officer
Email: jeffrey.young3@va.gov
Phone: 847-372-1885
Off-Station (Mail Code 00RCO)

Pam Maseda, Assistant Research Compliance Officer
Email: pamela.maseda@va.gov
Phone: 281-217-7553
Off-Station (Mail Code 00RCO)

Suzette Stine, MBA
Compliance Manager, IQuESt
Email: suzette.stine@va.gov
Phone: 713-791-1414
Nabisco building, Suite 01Y

Houston VA Research and Education Foundation

Rachel Harris, MHA, MBA
Executive Director, HVAREF
Email: rachel.harris@hvaref.org
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 27934
Main hospital, building 110, Room 164

Marilyn Prince, Accounting Associate |
Email: marilyn.prince@hvaref.org
Phone: 713-791-1414, ext. 28633
Main hospital, building 110, Room 164

Last updated: