Skip to Content

Office of Research Administration

In 2007, the VALLHCS Human Research Protection Program (HRPP) successfully obtained accreditation by the Association for the Accreditation of Human Research Protection Programs, Inc. (AAHRPP). Consequently, the HRPP received a full 3 year accreditation. In addition, the animal component of the facility’s research program is fully accredited by the Association for Assessment and Accreditation of Laboratory Animal Care International (AAALAC).

This section can feature information regarding the office of research administration, committee information, training links, and so on.

The Office of Research Administration provides administrative support for the facility’s research committees including the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC), the Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC), the Institutional Review Board (IRB), and the Research and Development (R&D) Committee. These committees are tasked with ensuring subject safety, regulatory compliance, and scientific rigor of all approved research projects and report directly to executive leadership at the VALLHCS.

Additionally, the ORA staff provides supportive assistance and guidance to senior investigators in the submission of competitive grants for VA and non-VA funding. The ORA also supports and promotes the career development of young investigators by providing assistance in career development award packages. 

Mohan Subburaman, Acting ACOS/ Research

Maria Rodriguez, Administrative Officer for Research

Sunbeam Obomsawin, Human Research Protection Program Administrator

Ernest Alva, R&D Committee Coordinator and Grants Manager

Sophia Rodriguez, IRB Committee Coordinator

Terry Dent, HR Coordinator and Budget Analyst

Dion Chessar, Budget Analyst

Aimee Rodriguez, Health Science Specialist- Clinical Coordinator Pulmonary

Candy Rodgers, Program Specialist- Study Coordinator