Skip to Content
Your browser is out of date. To use this website, please update your browser or use a different device.
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Education program coordinators

Minneapolis VA education program coordinators will help you navigate the VA internship and fellowship application process.

Please contact your VA education program coordinator or TMS administrator with any questions about application materials.

Select your specialty/program:

Students:

Kori Geinert
Minneapolis VAHCS, NFS (120)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-2566
Fax: 612-467-5997
Email: Kori.Geinert@va.gov 

 

Students:

Carolyn Thell
Minneapolis VAHCS, Medical Records Department
One Veterans Drive, Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-2000
Email: Carolyn.Thell@va.gov

Sandra Sampair
Minneapolis VAHCS, Medical Records Department
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-3373
Email: Sandra.Sampair@va.gov

Physician fellows, residents and medical students:

Michael Froats
Minneapolis VAHCS, PM&R (117)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-2044
Fax: 612-467-5604
Email: michael.froats@va.gov

Family practice residents:

Sarah Grunhard

Phone: 612-467-2072
Email: Sarah.Grunhard@va.gov

Fellows and residents:

Darlene Dewaay
Minneapolis VAHCS, Medicine Office (111)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-4431
Email: Darlene.DeWaay@va.gov

Physician assistants:

Kimberly Smith, PA-C (Interim)
Minneapolis VAHCS
One Veterans Drive
Minneapolis, MN  55417

Email: Kimberly.Smith6@va.gov

Students: 

Kate Mattson
Phone: 612-467-2085
Email: Kathleen.Mattson@va.gov


Internal medicine includes: 

  • Cardiology disease
  • Chief resident (IM)
  • Clinical cardiac
  • Diabetes and metabolism
  • Electrophysiology
  • Endocrinology
  • Family practice
  • Gastroenterology (IM)
  • Hematology and oncology
  • Infectious disease
  • Interventional cardiology
  • Nephrology
  • Pulmonary disease and critical care medicine
  • Rheumatology
  • Sleep medicine

Nursing students:

Felicia Berger
Minneapolis VAHCS, Education Department (4T-109)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-7771
Email: Felicia.Berger@va.gov

Pre-license nursing:

Cynthia Pivec
Minneapolis VAHCS, Education Department (4M-135)
One Veterans Drive
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-4097
Email: Cynthia.Pivec@va.gov

Nurse practitioner:

Patrick Sherrick
Minneapolis VAHCS, Education Department (4M-135)
One Veterans Drive
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-629-7187
Email: Patrick.Sherrick@va.gov

TMS administrator:

Kami Lindberg
Minneapolis VAHCS, Education Department
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-4380
Email: Kami.Lindberg@va.gov

MDs, medical students, and pathology tech students:

Kaarn Spencer
Minneapolis VAHCS, Path & Lab (113)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-2088
Email: Kaarn.Spencer@va.gov

Phlebotomy trainees and medical technologist trainees:

Rachel South
Minneapolis VAHCS, Path & Lab (113)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-4073
Email: Rachel.South@va.gov

When creating a new user account in TMS training self-enrollment, please select the appropriate point of contact for your section.


Pathology and laboratory medicine service includes:

  • Anatomic & surgical pathology
  • Hematopathology/cytology
  • Blood bank
  • Chemistry and toxicology
  • Hematology
  • Microbiology

Pharmacy students: 

Lindsey Timm, PharmD, BCACP
Minneapolis VAHCS, 
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-2040
Email: Lindsey.Timm@va.gov

Lynn Peterka
Minneapolis VAHCS,
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-629-7929
Fax: 612-727-5654
Email: Lynn.Peterka@va.gov

Physician fellows, residents, medical students and others: 

Michael Froats
Minneapolis VAHCS, PM&R (117)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-2044
Fax: 612-467-5604
Email: michael.froats@va.gov

Physical therapy neurologic residency program: 

Lori Danzl, PT, GCS
Minneapolis VAHCS, PM&R (117)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-3073
Fax: 612-467-5604
Email: Lori.Danzl@va.gov

Physical therapy clinical rotations: 

Shawn Mclaughlin
Minneapolis VAHCS, PM&R (117)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 
Shawn.Mclaughlin@va.gov

Occupational therapy: 

Laura Glenz, MOT, OTR/L
Minneapolis VAHCS, PM&R (117)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-814-3364
Email: Laura.Glenz@va.gov

Speech language pathology:

Ann St. Jacque
Minneapolis VAHCS, PM&R (127A)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-1380
Email: Ann.St.Jacque@va.gov

Prosthetics:

Kyle Barrons
Minneapolis VAHCS, Prosthetic Treatment Center
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-2344
Email: Kyle.Barrons@va.gov

Students:

Tina Gustafson
Minneapolis VAHCS, Prosthetic Treatment Center
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-2595
Email: Tina.Gustafson@va.gov

Residents, medical students, fellows, interns and other trainees:

Jay Stephenson
Minneapolis VAHCS, Mental & Behavioral Health (116A)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-1504


Psychology and psychiatry includes:

  • Psychology postdoctoral residency
  • Psychology predoctoral internship
  • Psychology practicum training
  • Psychiatry residency
  • Psychiatry fellowships
  • Addiction psychiatry
  • Geriatric psychiatry
  • Medical student psychiatry clerkship

Residents and fellow coordinator:

Sara Baker
Minneapolis VAHCS, Imaging (114)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-1057
Email: Sara.Baker2@va.gov

Imaging support services manager:

Julie Brown
Minneapolis VAHCS, Imaging (114)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-1057
Email: Julie.Brown@va.gov

Students:

Carol Camden
Minneapolis VAHCS, Recreation Therapy (135R)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-3947
Fax: 612-727-5643
Email: Carol.Camden@va.gov

Students:

Amy Archer
Minneapolis VAHCS,  Social Work (122)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-3239
Email: Amy.Archer@va.gov

Medical students and other trainees:

Shanna Vagts
Minneapolis VAHCS, Surgery ICC (112)
One Veterans Drive
Minneapolis, MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-3395
Fax: 612-713-6765
Email: Shanna.Vagts@va.gov

Residents and fellows:

Marlin "Curt" Grose 
Minneapolis VAHCS, Surgery / Specialty Care (112)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis, MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-4551
Fax: 612-713-6765
Email: Marlin.Grose@va.gov

Kyle Card
Minneapolis VAHCS, Surgery / Specialty Care (112)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis, MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-1330
Fax: 612-713-6765
Email: Kyle.Card@va.gov

All other inquiries:

Lynda Dent, Administrative Officer, SSC
Minneapolis VAHCS, Surgery/Specialty Care (112)
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-2384
Fax: 612-713-6765
Email: Lynda.Dent@va.gov


Surgery/specialty care includes:

  • Adult reconstructive orthopedics
  • Audiology
  • Anesthesiology
  • Clinical neurophysiology
  • Colon and rectal surgery
  • Critical care surgery
  • Dermatology
  • Endovascular surgery
  • General surgery
  • Hand surgery
  • Neurological surgery
  • Neurology
  • Obstetrics & gynecology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopedic surgery
  • Otolaryngology
  • Plastic surgery
  • Radiation oncology
  • Thoracic surgery
  • Urology
  • Vascular

VALUE clerkship:

Katie Krasaway
Minneapolis VAHCS, Education Department
One Veterans Drive,
Minneapolis MN 55417

Phone: 612-467-7667
Email: Katie.Krasaway@va.gov

Last updated: