Skip to Content
Learn what the PACT Act means for your VA benefits

Thursday Yoga Class Schedule

Yoga

Veteran yoga class

When:

Thu. Feb 9, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Repeats

Where:

Tuscaloosa VA Medical Center

TVAMC Sports Atrium, Building 137

Cost:

Free

Yoga will begin on January 3, 2023, it will be offered to the first 15 attendees.


Schedule: 
First, Second and Fourth Thursday of  each month from 1:00PM - 2:00PM


For information, contact Ashanti Richardson at ashanti.richardson@va.gov or the Whole Health Team at vhatuawholehealthteam@va.gov


An Introduction to Yoga for Whole Health

What is yoga?

When you see photos or videos of people doing yoga, it may not be obvious that yoga has been practiced for thousands of years. Yoga first began in India. It has changed over time, and a wide range of styles of yoga now exists. It can be hard to know where to start. The good thing about the many styles is that most people can find something that works well for them. The word “yoga” comes from the ancient language of Sanskrit. “Yoga” literally means “union” or “integration.” The purpose of yoga is to unite the body, mind, and spirit. This leads to harmony, balance, and peace within oneself and with others. The word “yoga” also refers to the practices that help you get to this state of greater calm and peace.

What is yoga therapy?

Yoga has been used as part of traditional medicine in India for hundreds of years. Doctors have traditionally prescribed yoga to aid in healing. Yoga therapy, also called therapeutic yoga, is a fairly new field in the United States and it continues to evolve. Yoga therapy is geared toward healing. It often adapts traditional yoga for people who may have a variety of health conditions or needs.

How can yoga benefit my health?

The various parts of yoga, including the postures, meditation, and breathing, offer a wide range of benefits related to the Circle of Health.

Moving the Body

The physical part of yoga—the postures—gets the most attention in the news and in research. Like other forms of exercise, doing the postures is helpful. Yoga helps improve flexibility, strength, and balance. When you do yoga, you pay attention to your body’s position and your breathing. This increases your self-awareness. Research shows that yoga is helpful for low back pain. Research on yoga for other conditions is just getting started. So far, research shows that yoga is helpful for the following:

  • Decrease pain in osteoarthritis
  • Improve balance in older adults
  • Control blood sugar in type 2 diabetes
  • Improve risk factors for heart disease, including blood pressure
  • Decrease fatigue in patients with cancer and cancer survivors
  • Decrease menopausal hot flashes
  • Lose weight

View the full article at the link below.

https://www.va.gov/WHOLEHEALTH/Veteran-Handouts/docs/Yoga-508Final-9-4-2018.pdf#

Thu. Jan 12, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jan 19, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jan 26, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Feb 2, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Feb 9, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Feb 16, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Feb 23, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Mar 2, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Mar 9, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Mar 16, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Mar 23, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Mar 30, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Apr 6, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Apr 13, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Apr 20, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Apr 27, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. May 4, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. May 11, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. May 18, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. May 25, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jun 1, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jun 8, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jun 15, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jun 22, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jun 29, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jul 6, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jul 13, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jul 20, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jul 27, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Aug 3, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Aug 10, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Aug 17, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Aug 24, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Aug 31, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Sep 7, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Sep 14, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Sep 21, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Sep 28, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Oct 5, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Oct 12, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Oct 19, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Oct 26, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Nov 2, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Nov 9, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Nov 16, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Nov 23, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Nov 30, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Dec 7, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Dec 14, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Dec 21, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Dec 28, 2023, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jan 4, 2024, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jan 11, 2024, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jan 18, 2024, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Jan 25, 2024, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Feb 1, 2024, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Feb 8, 2024, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar

Thu. Feb 15, 2024, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm CT

Add to Calendar
See more events