Less than life-threatening injuries or symptoms can be treated at a VA facility or by in-network urgent care providers. For life threatening injuries or symptoms, call 911 or go to the emergency room.
Emergency or urgent care?
For injuries or symptoms that threaten life, limbs or organs, call 911 or go to the emergency room. Report your emergency treatment to VA within 72 hours by calling 844-724-7842 (844-72HRVHA ) or visit the emergency care reporting portal.
VA is here for Veterans in acute suicidal crisis
You can get the emergency suicide care you need, when you need it, no matter where you are, without worrying about a bill. Starting Jan. 17, 2023, VA will provide, pay for or reimburse emergency care for certain Veterans at imminent risk of self-harm, including ambulance and other transportation costs. Go to your nearest VA or community care facility to get emergency care. Regardless of VA enrollment status, you may also be eligible for up to 30 days of inpatient or crisis residential care, and up to 90 days of outpatient care, including social work.
The Comprehensive Prevention, Access to Care and Treatment (COMPACT) Act of 2020 covers the cost of your care if you were discharged after more than 24 months of active-duty service under conditions other than dishonorable, or you served more than 100 days under a combat exclusion or in support of a contingency operation either directly or by operating an unmanned aerial vehicle from another location, and were discharged under conditions other than dishonorable. COMPACT Act also extended eligibility for emergency suicide care to Veterans who were the victim of a physical assault of a sexual nature, a battery of a sexual nature, or sexual harassment during their service. VA established an expedited review process to ensure costs get handled appropriately. If you receive a bill, contact a patient advocate.
Access to urgent care
You have options outside of the emergency room during a health scare. Less than life-threatening injuries or symptoms can be treated at a VA facility or by in-network urgent care providers. To get the right type of care and a better experience, learn more about where to go when you need care quickly.
For Veteran enrolled in VA Eastern Colorado Healthcare System
- Call 800-698-2411 (MyVA411) and select option 1, then option 3 to verify eligibility for urgent care services.
- Use the VA facility locator to find in-network urgent care locations
- You must visit an in-network pharmacy in the same state as your urgent care visit to avoid any issues filling your urgent care prescription.
- Bring a valid, government-issued ID to in-network urgent care location. Ask and verify the urgent care provider and pharmacy is in VA network.
- Call 866-620-2071 for assistance if you have difficulty receiving urgent care or filling your urgent care prescription.
- Do not pay a copayment at the time of urgent care.
- Call 833-483-8669 (833-4VETNOW) to confirm Veteran’s eligibility for urgent care services.
- Ensure 14-day Rx is on VA Urgent/Emergent Formulary if prescribing an urgent care prescription.
- Make sure you have activated Veteran’s pharmacy benefit by calling to check their eligibility.
- Do not charge a copayment to Veteran.
- File urgent care claim within 30 days with TriWest.
- After the visit, submit medical documentation to VA Eastern Colorado Health Care System within 30 calendar days of the date of service.
- Maximum day supply for Veteran’s initial fill is 14 days (7 days or fewer for opioids). No refills.
- Do not charge Veteran a copayment for dispensed medications.
- Enter VA pharmacy claims using the following information:
- Enter BIN: 003858
- Person Code: 01
- Enter PCN: A4
- Enter Rx Group: VAPC3RX
- Enter Veteran’s 9-digit SSN or 10-digit Veterans ID number
- Enter Veteran’s date of birth (YYYMMDD format)
If a non-contracted pharmacy is used, Veteran must pay out-of-pocket for the prescription, then file a claim for reimbursement with the VA ECHCS Office of Community Care.
If the Veteran is not eligible for pharmacy benefits, but has an urgent care prescription, call TriWest at 866-620-2071 (24/7).
For help, call Express Scripts Pharmacy Help Desk at 800-922-1557.
Keep the VA ECHCS urgent care assistance card and emergency suicide care factsheet somewhere handy for you, as well as your spouse or caregiver. You can save or print the card and factsheet (PDF), as well as save screenshots on your mobile device.