Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.
Graphic for the Veterans Crisis Line. It reads Veterans Cris Lins 1 800 273 8255 press 1
My healthevet badge
 

Homeless Veterans

Upcoming Events

Conferences

The events below are directly related to homelessness, Veterans' issues or have specific tracks or sessions exploring these topics. Please contact event organizers directly for more information or to register to attend.

Dates Event Name Location
February 18 – 20, 2015 National Conference on Ending Family and Youth Homelessness San Diego, CA
March 1 – 3, 2015 NLIHC 2015 Housing Legislative Forum Washington, DC
March 7 – 11, 2015 NLC 2015 Congressional City Conference Washington, DC
March 8 – 10, 2015 NAHMA Federal Affairs Issues (Winter) Meeting Washington, DC
March 25, 2015 HUD Call Series: Ending Veteran Homelessness in 2015 Teleconference
May 27 –  29, 2015 National Coalition for Homeless Veterans Annual Conference Washington, DC
July 19 –  23, 2015 National Association of Police Organizations Savannah, GA
July 27 –  30, 2015 Veterans Treatment Court Conference Washington, DC
July 30 –  August 4, 2015 American Bar Association Annual Meeting Chicago, IL
August 15 –  23, 2015 AMVETS 71st National Convention Birmingham, AL
December 10 – 13, 2015 Council of State Governments National Conference Nashville, TN

Stand Downs

Stand Downs are typically one- to three-day events providing supplies and services to homeless Veterans, such as food, shelter, clothing, health screenings and VA Social Security benefits counseling. Veterans can also receive referrals to other assistance such as health care, housing solutions, employment, substance use treatment and mental health counseling. They are collaborative events, coordinated between local VA Medical Centers, other government agencies and community-based homeless service providers.

Below are the scheduled stand downs for 2015. This list is updated often so check back regularly. To volunteer for or participate in an upcoming stand down in your area, contact the Point of Contact (POC).

Dates Location VA Primary POC Alternate POC
January 24, 2015 Washington, DC Stephanie Burns* | (202) 745-5832 Cheryl Samples | (202) 745-8000
stephanie.burns2@va.gov cheryl.samples@va.gov
January 24, 2015 Cleveland, OH Barb Karam | (216) 391-0264, X862 2025 Nellie Rogers | (330) 761-7054, x865 2030
barbara.karam@va.gov nellie.rogers@va.gov
January 26 – 29, 2015 Bend, OR Troy Martin* Jessie Higgins | (541) 383-2793
troy.martin1@va.gov jessie.higgins@covo-us.org
January 27, 2015 Aberdeen, SD Pat Moore* | (605) 229-3500, x2269 Candice Cummings | (605) 336-3230
patrick.moore2@va.gov candice.cummings@va.gov
January 28, 2015 Newport, OR Tasha Christensen* | (306) 696-4061, x34252 Jerry Flores | (541) 265-8891
tasha.christensen@va.gov jerry.flores@oregon.gov
January 29, 2015 Temple, TX Michael Ormsby* | (254) 379-0532 Christy Oliver | (254) 733-9884
michael.ormsby@va.gov christy.oliver@va.gov
January 29, 2015 Wichita, KS Melissa Gronau* | (316) 651-3684 Melissa Hodge | (316) 685-2221, x57311
melissa.gronau@va.gov melissa.hodge@va.gov
January 31, 2015 Fort Myers, FL Jennifer Sprague* | (727) 398-6661, x7552 Michelle Laycox | (727) 410-1428
jennifer.sprague3@va.gov michelle.laycox@va.gov
February 7, 2015 Lebanon, PA Deborah Brearton* | (717) 272-6621, x5779 Keisha Kerr | (717) 272-6621
deborah.brearton@va.gov keisha.kerr@va.gov
February 12 – 14, 2015 Phoenix, AZ Esther Thomas* | (602) 803-2148 Michael Leon | (602) 568-7723
esther.thomas@va.gov michael.leon@va.gov
February 13, 2015 Rochester, NY Jeanette Creighton* | (585) 393-8015 Kathryn Stevens | (585) 463-2600, x32540
jeanette.creighton@va.gov kathryn.stevens@va.gov
February 21, 2015 Milwaukee, WI Roy Bishop | (414) 384-2000 Robert Hawkins | (414) 379-1221
roy.bishop@va.gov
February 27 – 28, 2015 Ocala, FL Dale Elzie* | (352) 376-1611, x5691 Gary Pascale | (352) 433-2320
dale.elzie1@va.gov george.pascale@aol.com
March 5 – 7, 2015 Kingman, AZ Lee Elder* | (928) 4455-4860, x5589 or 6842 Pat Farrell | (928) 753-5239
leroy.elder@va.gov president@javc.org
March 14, 2015 Lancaster, CA Michael Johnson | (310) 478-3711, x40786 Steven Baker | (661) 940-5272
michael. johnson33fc51@va.gov
March 18 – 19, 2015 Las Vegas, NV Cynthia Dodge | (702) 791-9000, x15822 Cherie White-Fowler | (702) 791-9000, x13676
cynthia.dodge3@va.gov cherie.white-fowler@va.gov
March 23, 2015 Scottsbluff, NE Jamison Hild | (605) 720-7161 Heidi Hill | (605) 490-3592
jamison.hild@va.gov heidi.hill@va.gov
April 8, 2015 Brainerd, MN Carolyn Ramirez | (320) 255-6480, x7190 Paul Pedersen | (218) 722-8763
carolyn.ramirez@va.gov ppedersen@mac-v.org
April 10 – 12, 2015 San Gabriel, CA Michael Johnson | (310) 478-3711, x40786 Joe Leal | (323) 543-8440
michael. johnson33fc51@va.gov
April 11, 2015 Bay Pines, FL Jennifer Sprague* | (727) 398-6661, x7552 Edgar Solivan | (727) 398-6661
jennifer.sprague3@va.gov edgardo.solivan@va.gov
April 11, 2015 Birmingham, AL Rick DeFilippo* | (205) 933-8101, x5951 Willie Fields | (205) 933-8101, x6751
rick.defilippo@va.gov willie.fields@va.gov
April 11, 2015 Oakhurst, CA James Lujan | (559) 225-6100, x5764 Terry Cole | (599) 760-5056
April 17, 2015 Winston Salem, NC Jennifer Herb | (704) 638-9000, x3011 Kevin Donnelly | (336) 768-3296, x1500
jennifer.herb@va.gov kevin.donnelly@va.gov
April 18, 2015 Orlando, FL Ken Mueller | (407) 373-5471 Jean Coppin | (407) 629-1599, x1818
kenneth.mueller@va.gov jean.coppin@va.gov
April 24, 2015 St. Cloud, MN Carolyn Ramirez | (320) 255-6480, x7190 Laura Becker-Pallister | (320) 255-6480, x6321
carolyn.ramirez@va.gov laura.becker-pallister@va.gov
April 24 – 26, 2015 Tallahassee, FL Denna Green-Corbett* | (850) 521-5767 Claude Shipley | (850) 488-4181
denna.green-corbett@va.gov shipleyOD@aol.com
April 25, 2015 Cocoa, FL Jacob Mckee* | (321) 637-3788, x42639 Justin Woods | (321) 637-3788
jacob.mckee@va.gov justin.woods1@va.gov
April 25, 2015 Sarasota, FL Jennifer Sprague* | (727) 398-6661, x7552 Michelle Laycox | (727) 410-1428
jennifer.sprague3@va.gov michelle.laycox@va.gov
May 1 – 3, 2015 Miami, FL Beth Wolfsohn* | (305) 541-5864, x2511 Tony Colmenares | (305) 984-7849
beth.wolfsohn@va.gov colmenaresa@fdva.state.fl.us
May 8, 2015 Safford, AZ Bob Pilcher | (520) 305-6993 Dave Nelson | (520) 792-1450, x3490
robert.pilcher@va.gov dave.nelson@va.gov
May 9, 2015 Couer d'Alene, ID Andy Rogers | (509) 462-2500 x40201 Eric Swanbeck | (208) 704-0548
andrew.rogers4@va.gov
May 23 – 24, 2015 Unalaska, AK Sharon Strutz-Norton* | (907) 257-5460 Phil Hokenson
sharon.strutz-norton@va.gov phillip.hokenson@va.gov
May 29 – 30, 2015 Homer, AK Sharon Strutz-Norton* | (907) 257-5460 Phil Hokenson
sharon.strutz-norton@va.gov phillip.hokenson@va.gov
May 2, 2015 St. Louis, MO Laurie Geurin | (314) 652-4100, x56391    David Kollore | (401) 742-6731
laurie.geurin2@va.gov
May 7, 2015 Forks, WA Olivia Reiber | (206) 664-1015  John Braasch | (360) 301-9987 
olivia.reiber@va.gov  voicesforveterans@yahoo.com
May 8, 2015 Safford, AZ Bob Pilcher | (520) 305-6993  Dave Nelson | (520) 792-1450, x3490  
robert.pilcher@va.gov  david.nelson2@va.gov 
May 9, 2015 Coeur dÕAlene, ID Andy Rogers 509-462-2500 Ext. 4020  Eric Swanbeck | (208) 704-0548 
andrew.rogers4@va.gov 
May 14, 2015 Alexandria, MN Carolyn Ramirez | (320) 255-6480, x7190  Paul Pederson | (218) 722-8763 
carolyn.ramirez2@va.gov ppedersen@mac-v.org 
May 14 − 16, 2015 San Luis Obispo, CA George Moran | (805) 782-9101  Christina Chandler | (805) 781-5768 
george.moran@va.gov  cchandler@co.slo.ca.us
May 15, 2015 Flagstaff, AZ Markham Breen | (928) 445-4860, x5305    Ted Martello | (928) 310-4590  
markham.breen@va.gov tmartello@cc-za.org
May 20, 2015 Los Angeles, CA Michael Johnson | (310) 478-3711, x40786  Carrie Gray | (310) 478-3711 
michael.johnson33fc51@va.gov  carrie.gray@va.gov 
May 20, 2015 Lansing, MI Shelly Wilkinson | (269) 966-5600, x37830  Renee Jones | (517) 489-5278 
shelley.wilkinson@va.gov  rjones@voami.org 
May 21, 2015 Rainelle, WV Idona Brewster | (304) 255-2121, x4480  Tracie Belcher | (304) 255-2121, x4480  
idona.brewster@va.gov  tracie.belcher2@va.gov 
May 25 − 29, 2015 Pomona, CA Michael Johnson | (310) 478-3711, x40786  Joe Leal | (323) 543-8440
michael.johnson33fc51@va.gov 
May 30, 2015 Tacoma, WA Emily Jex | (253) 583-2526  Tito Medina | (206) 802-5578 
emily.jex@va.gov  titoveteransadvocate@gmail.com 
June 5 − 6, 2015 Kansas City, MO Joe Levota | (913) 682-2000, x52313  Tracie Tinsley 913-682-2000 Ext. 52306 
salvatore.levota@va.gov  tracie.tinsley@va.gov 
June 12 − 13, 2015 Klamath Falls, OR Darin Dale | (503) 957-5725  Tammi Deforrest | (541) 331-9975 
darin.dale@va.gov  tdeforrest@veteransenrichmentcenter.org 
June 25, 2015 Rosebud, SD Jamison Hild | (605) 720-7161   Heidi Hill 605-490-3592 
jamison.hild@va.gov heidi.hill@va.gov 
July 17 − 19, 2015 San Diego, CA Wade Ebersole | (858) 642-3839  Darcy Pavich | (619) 520-8389 
wade.ebersole2@va.gov  darcy.pavich@vvsd.net 
July 27, 2015 Port Townsend, WA Olivia Reiber | (206) 664-1015  John Braasch 360-301-9987 
olivia.reiber@va.gov  voicesforveterans@yahoo.com 
August 15, 2015 Elkhart, IN Steve Prater | (260) 445-4145  Daniel Reed  
steven.prater2@va.gov  dreed@gotoworkone.com
August 21, 2015 Sierra Vista, AZ Bob Pilcher | (520) 305-6993  Dave Nelson | (520) 792-1450, x3490  
robert.pilcher@va.gov david.nelson2@va.gov
August 21, 2015 Allegan, MI Tiyanna Whitt | (269) 967-2714  Sherry Owens | (269) 719-9228 
tiyanna.whitt@va.gov  storres@allegancounty.org
August 27, 2015 Porterville, CA James Lujan | (559) 470-7273  John Schuler | (559) 977-3697 
james.lujan@va.gov  bigjohn.44@hotmail.com
September 11, 2015 Portland, OR Tasha Christensen 971-200-0351  Alex Glover 503-280-4673 
tasha.christensen@va.gov  aglover@tprojects.org
September 15, 2015 Eagle Butte, SD Jamison Hild | (605) 720-7161 Heidi Hill | (605) 490-3592
jamison.hild@va.gov heidi.hill@va.gov
September 15 − 18, 2015 Fresno, CA    James Lujan | (559) 470-7273  John Schuler | (559) 977-3697 
james.lujan@va.gov bigjohn.44@hotmail.com 
September 18, 2015 New Bern, NC Candace Parker 919-286-0411  Lovay Singleton 252-637-9350 
candace.parker@va.gov  lovay@embarqmail.com 
September 18, 2015 Fort Wayne, IN Steve Prater | (260) 445-4145  Lisa Christen 260-385-0663 
steven.prater2@va.gov  lchristen@voain.org 
September 18 − 19, 2015 Prescott Valley, AZ Markham Breen 928-445-4860 Ext. 5305  Skye Biasetti 928-200-7692 
markham.breen@va.gov sbiasetti@usvetsinc.org 
September 18 − 20, 2015 Sacramento, CA Jeff Jewell 916-534-0037  Chuck Carter 916-364-6701 
jefferey.jewell@va.gov  clements.carter@va.gov 
September 19, 2015 Havelock, NC Candace Parker | (919) 286-0411  Lovay Singleton | (252) 637-9350 
candace.parker@va.gov  lovay@embarqmail.com 
September 19, 2015 Titusville, FL Justin Woods | (321) 637-3788  Jacob Mckee | (321) 637-3788, x42639 
justin.woods1@va.gov  jacob.mckee@va.gov 
September 19, 2015 Milwaukee, WI Roy Bishop | (414) 384-2000  Bob Hawkins | (414) 379-1221
roy.bishop@va.gov 
September 24, 2015 Panama City, FL Shayma Salman | (850) 636-7018  Jennifer Bannister | (850) 872-4340, x129 
shayma.salman@va.gov  bannisterj@careersourcegc.com 
September 25, 2015 Muncie, IN Carolyn Bowers | (765) 674-3321, x73289  Steve Prater | (260) 445-4145 
carolyn.bowers@va.gov  steven.prater2@va.gov 
September 30, 2015 South Bend, IN Jennifer Kimbrough  Kent Laudeman 574-968-5349 
jennifer.kimbrough1@va.gov  klaudeman@cfh.net 
October 1, 2015 Port Angeles, WA Olivia Reiber | (206) 664-1015  John Braasch 360-301-9987 
 olivia.reiber@va.gov  voicesforveterans@yahoo.com
October 2, 2015 Marion, IN Steve Prater | (260) 445-4145  Bob Kelly | (765) 651-2422 
steven.prater2@va.gov  bkelly@grantcounty.net 
October 9, 2015 Centreville, MI Tiyanna Whitt | (269) 967-2714  Anita Schlabach | 269-689-2135 
tiyanna.whitt@va.gov  aschlabach@michigan.gov 
October 16, 2015 Anderson, IN Steve Prater | (260) 445-4145  April Forrest | (765) 457-1598, x88179 
steven.prater2@va.gov  april.l.forrest.ctr@mail.mil 
October 17, 2015 Troutdale, OR Tasha Christensen | (971) 200-0351  Pete Pringle 503-669-7112 Ext. 264 
tasha.christensen@va.gov peter.j.pringle@oregon.gov 
October 17, 2015 Churubusco, IN Steve Prater | (260) 445-4145  Kim Dietz | (260) 610-1806 
steven.prater2@va.gov harleykimy@hotmail.com 
October 23, 2015 Greenville, NC Candace Parker | (919) 286-0411  Melinda Gates | (252) 830-2149, x3224 
candace.parker@va.gov  melinda.gates@va.gov 
October 29, 2015 Parkersburg, WV Amber Brunetti | (304) 669-2298  Marina Kelley | (304) 627-0993 
amber.brunetti@va.gov  marina.kelley@va.gov 
October 29 − 31, 2015 Redding, CA Susan Tieden | (530) 440-5517  Kyra Hunt | (925) 372-2265    
mary.tieden@va.gov  kyra.hunt@va.gov
October 30, 2015 Grand Junction, CO Lisa Strauss | (970) 263-2800, x1-2723  Robin Trump | (970) 260-9230 
lisa.strauss@va.gov  robin.trump@va.gov 
October 30, 2015 Battle Creek, MI Lisa Grenon | (269) 966-5600 Ext. 31726  Doug Stewart | (269) 964-8133 
lisa.grenon@va.gov  doug.stewart@sharecenterbc.org 
November 6, 2015 Modesto, CA James Lujan | (559) 470-7273  John Schuler | (559) 977-3697 
james.lujan@va.gov bigjohn.44@hotmail.com 
November 6, 2015 Kokomo, IN Michael Shaffer | (765) 674-3321  Steve Prater (260) 445-4145 
michael.shaffer@va.gov  steven.prater2@va.gov

 

Back to Top